Our focus on architecture
Philosophy

Holistic architecture

Architecture interlinks the human being, the space, technology and philosophy. Our architectural pursuit lies within the superposition of complexities. We generate buildings by means of programmatic reinterpretation, topographic continuity, urban context, sustainable building concept and differentiated spatial sequences.

Conceptual contextualism

Detailed information of the location in its context is gathered, usage patterns are analysed and intelligent technologies are researched to develop the contextual concept.

Otto Kapfinger (architecture theorist and publicist)
'For HOLODECK architects, the spacial loop is not only a formal pattern but rather a critical mass that emerges in their projects through the collection and superimposition of emprical data which provoke a shift that lead to a new quality, the loop of empiricism. Naturally, for this transformation of the concept - Bernard Tschumi called it 'transprogramming' - conventional analysis is not sufficient. It necessitates distinct methods in the research phase to break down monocausal argumentations and reveal hidden potentials of a situation. HOLODECK architectsnow show examples of how this new sensitivity can be fruitful even on the simplest occasions with the simplest materials and how it can point the way to new design approaches.

 

Elke Krasny (cultural theorist and urban researcher)
'The starting point for HOLODECK's work is the concept. Finding common ground in topographical surroundings and individual needs dermine the analytical process.'

 

Christine Müller (editor-in-chief and journalist)
'Marliess Breus and Michael Ogertschnig are the two main actors of HOLODECK architects. The two use the term 'conceptual contextualism' to describe their constant intention to gently unravel the space, even at breezy heights. Ultimately, they achieve this by disassembling all the components into their individual parts and then meticulously putting them back together into a new, but conclusive unity.'

Our focus on architecture
Philosophy

Holistische Architektur

Architektur ist die Vernetzung von Mensch, Ort, Technologie und Philosophie. Unser Anliegen in der Architektur liegt in der Überlagerung von Komplexitäten und wir generieren Gebäude mit programmatischer Neuinterpretation, landschaftlicher Kontinuität, urbanem Kontext, nachhaltigem Gebäudekonzept und differenzierten Raumsequenzen.

Konzeptueller Kontextualismus

Wir sammeln detaillierte Informationen über die Eigenheiten des Ortes, analysieren Nutzerprogramme, untersuchen alte und neue Anwendungstechnologien und entwickeln aus diesen Analysen das kontextuelle Konzept.

Otto Kapfinger (Architekturtheoretiker und Publizist)
'Für HOLODECK architects ist die Raumschleife nicht nur formales Muster, vielmehr entsteht in ihren Projekten aus der Sammlung und aus der Überlagerung empirischer Daten eine kritische Masse, die dann zum Umschlagen, zum Loop der Empirie in eine neue Qualität führt. Für dieses Umschlagen des Konzepts - Bernard Tschumi nannte es 'transprogramming' - genügt freilich nicht die konventionelle Bestandsanalyse. Dazu müssen schon in der Phase der Recherche eigene Methoden angewendet werden, um lineare oder monokausale Argumentationsreihen aufzubrechen und die verborgenen Potentiale einer Situation zum Vorschein zu bringen. HOLODECK architects zeigen nun Beispiele, wie diese neue Sensibilität auch bei einfachsten Anlässen und mit einfachsten Materialien fruchtbar werden und den gestalterischen Ansätzen neue Wege weisen kann.'

Elke Krasny (Kulturtheoretikerin und Stadtforscherin)
'Ausgangspunkt für Holodecks Arbeiten ist das Konzept. Das Zueinanderfinden von topografischem Umfeld und individuellen Bedürfnissen bestimmt den analytischen Arbeitsprozess.'

Christine Müller (Chefredakteurin und Journalistin)
'Marlies Breuss und Michael Ogertschnig sind die beiden Hauptakteure von HOLODECK architects. Mit dem Begriff des „Konzeptuellen Kontextualismus“ umschreiben die beiden ihre stete Intention, mit der sie den Raum auch in luftigen Höhen sanft entwirren. Dies bewerkstelligen sie letztlich damit, alle Komponenten in ihre Einzelteile zu zerlegen und in der Folge akribisch wieder zu einer neuen, aber schlüssigen Einheit zusammenzufügen.'