school expansion

The school complex at Ruckergasse containing a school centre, a kindergarten, a new secondary school and a special education school is projected to expand its grammar school by three theory classes, a canteen and s kitchen as well as service areas along with necessary side rooms.
The new wing fills the space with an offset to the existing facades of the historic Gründerzeit buildings and forms a contemporary contrast. The new emerging courtyard brings light to the entrance hall, the multifunctional zones, the existing gymnasiums, the caretaker apartment as well as the connecting hallways and serves as a comfortable place to linger.
The terrace, the pergola and the green areas on the roof represent further, diverse space to study or relax and for playgrounds inside the school complex.
The building is centrally accessed through the new entrance hall which acts as a distributor to the different functionalities and sectors inside the school.
The new building volume framed by the two masonry structures is conceptualised efficiently and sustainably as a reinforced concrete skeleton for future changes in use. The girders cantilevering inside the courtyard enable an independent facade design and a maximum space for the multifunctional zone. The low-energy building is tempered by underfloor heating and cooled by ventilation elements at night. Cross air ventilation from the courtyard to the street side also allow for an efficient and low-cost fresh air flow during the day.

2018, 1120 Vienna.

2.Prize.
Open, one-stage competition for realisation.
MA 56 - Wiener Schulen, Municipality of Vienna.
Extension of a grammar school.
GFA 7.800 sqm.

further information

Program:
school extension, grammar school, gymnasium, canteen, kitchen, service space

Client:
MA 56 - Wiener Schulen, Municipality of Vienna

Architecture:
Design - HOLODECK architects
Project team - Marlies Breuss, Michael Ogertschnig, Alessandro Zerbi, Amanda Riedel

Dimensions:
GFA 7.800 m2

school expansion

Am Standort Ruckergasse wird innerhalb von Schulzentrum, Kindergarten, neuer Mittelschule und Sonderschule die Erweiterung der Volksschule um drei Theorieklassen, Speisesaal und Küche sowie Servicebereiche samt zugehörigen Nebenräumen projektiert. Derzeit besteht die Volksschule aus zwei getrennten Baukörpern mit dazwischen liegendem Turnsaalgebäude und Hofbereich.
Der neue Gebäudetrakt positioniert sich mit Versatz zu den beiden Gebäudefronten der Gründerzeitbauten in den vorhandenen Zwischenraum und bildet einen zeitgenössischen Kontrapunkt. Der neu entstandene Innenhof versorgt die Eingangshalle, die Multifunktionszonen MuFu, die bestehenden Turnsäle, die Hausmeisterwohnung sowie die Verbindungsgänge mit natürlichem Licht und fungiert auch als angenehme Aufenthaltszone.
Dachterrasse, Pergola und Grünflächen am Dach sind weitere abwechslungsreiche Lern- und Erholungsbereiche sowie Spielflächen für die Kinder innerhalb des Volksschulgebäudes.
Zentral erschlossen wird das Gebäude über die neue Eingangshalle/Aula, die auch als Verteiler für die diversen Funktionen und Bauteile dient.
Der neue Baukörper wird als Stahlbetonskelettkonstruktion zwischen den beiden Mauerwerksbauten effizient und nachhaltig für spätere Änderungsmöglichkeiten konzipiert. Die Auskragung der Träger zum Innenhof ermöglichen eine unabhängige Fassadengestaltung und maximale MuFu Zone. Das Niedrigstenergiehaus wird mittels Fussbodenheizung temperiert und über die Lüftungselemente nachtgekühlt. Querlüftungsmöglichkeiten über den Innenhof bieten mit den strassenseitigen Fensterflügeln auch tagsüber eine effiziente und kostengünstige Frischluftzufuhr.

2018, 1120 Wien.

2.Preis.
Offener, einstufiger Realisierungswettbewerb.
MA 56 - Wiener Schulen, Wien.
Erweiterung Volksschule.
BGF 7.800 qm.

weitere Fakten

Programm:
Schulerweiterung, Volksschule, Turnsaal, Speisesaal, Küche, Serviceräume

Klient:
MA 56 - Wiener Schulen, Stadt Wien

Architektur:
Entwurf - HOLODECK architects
Projektteam - Marlies Breuss, Michael Ogertschnig, Alessandro Zerbi, Amanda Riedel

Dimension:
BGF 7.800 m2