passing centuries

The protected historic city hall of Feldkirchen in Carinthia consists of the main building, oriented towards the main square, as well as two adjacent, multistory yard wings with different lengths. The errection of the main building can be dated back to the mid 15th century. Due to an in-depth analysis of the urban setting and the possibilities of usage and arrangement thereof in the existing structures, the yard wings are restructered to their historically protected parts and the attic is freed of existing installations for future use.
The deconstruction, freeing the historic building parts, and the addition of space-efficient, newly built areas allows for a reduction of the change in level on the side of the courtyard to a maximum of two stories. This garantuees on the one hand a better urban integration of the city hall ensemble and on the other a qualitive use on the ground floor of the yard-enclosing buildings.
The library to the south, designed as a flexible space with a forecourt, acts as an attractor in the direction of the neighbouring church and parking area.
The city hall complex evolves into a citizen-oriented service provider, which presents itself as place of communication with good accessability from the South as well as the North. The public, cascading path along the courtyard wings provides a clear orientation and also a protected area for reading or lingering.

2019, 85622 Feldkirchen.

2.Prize.
Invited, one-stage competition for realisation.
Municipality of Feldkirchen.
City hall. Archive. Library.
GFA 2.700 sqm.

further information

Program:
Reconstruction and extension, library, archive, boardroom, office space

Client:
Municipality of Feldkirchen

Architecture:
Design - HOLODECK architects
Project team - Marlies Breuss, Michael Ogertschnig, Alessandro Zerbi, Yoana Dimitrova

Dimensions:
GFA 2.700 m2

passing centuries

Das denkmalgeschützte Rathaus von Feldkirchen in Kärnten besteht aus dem zum Hauptplatz orientierten Hauptgebäude sowie zwei angeschlossenen unterschiedlich langen, mehrgeschossigen Hoftrakten. Die Errichtung des Hauptgebäudes reicht im Kernbereich bis auf die Mitte des 15 Jhdt zurück. Aufgrund eingehender Analyse der städtebaulichen Situation und der Bestandsbauten auf ihre Nutzungsmöglichkeiten sowie auf die Unterbringung des Raumprogrammes werden die Hoftrakte auf die historisch geschützten Bereiche restrukturiert und das Dachgeschoss für zukünftige Nutzungsmöglichkeiten von Einbauten befreit.
Der Rückbau auf die denkmalgeschützten Gebäudeteile und die Ergänzung mit raumeffizienten Neubaubereichen erlaubt eine Reduktion der hofseitigen Höhenentwicklung auf maximal zwei Geschosse. Dies ermöglicht einerseits eine bessere städtebauliche Einbindung des Rathausensembles und andererseits eine hochwertige Nutzung der Erdgeschosszone in den Hofgebäuden.
Als Attraktor in Richtung Kirche und Parkplatz wird südseitig die Bibliothek als flexibler Raum mit kleinem Vorplatz samt Baum und Bank zum Aufenthalt gestaltet.
Das Rathausareal wird zum bürgernahen Dienstleister, der sich als Ort der Kommunikation mit guter Erreichbarkeit sowohl von Süden als auch von Norden präsentiert. Der öffentliche, sich abtreppende Weg entlang der beiden Hoftrakte bietet neben der klaren Orientierung auch geschützten Aufenthalt im Freien zu Lesen oder Verweilen.

2019, 85622 Feldkirchen.

2.Preis.
geladener, einstufiger Realisierungswettbewerb.
Stadtgemeinde Feldkirchen.
Rathaus. Archiv. Bücherei.
BGF 2.700qm.

weitere Fakten

Programm:
Um- und Zubau, Bücherei, Archiv, Sitzungssaal, Büros

Klient:
Stadtgemeinde Feldkirchen

Architektur:
Entwurf - HOLODECK architects
Projektteam - Marlies Breuss, Michael Ogertschnig, Alessandro Zerbi, Yoana Dimitrova

Dimensionen:
BGF 2.700 m2